Published on

Why I make COLLAPSE MACHINE

Authors

Freedom

First most important feeling I want to embrace in my game - being free to do whatever you want. Looking at horizon and wishing to go beyond it. Adventures. First months of gaming in Minecraft or CubeWorld gave that feeling of fresh vast world to explore.

Is that a village? What's inside stronghold? Can I beat people inside this castle? Is it fine to fall from this tree into darkness?

freedom

Home

In each adventure game you collect stuff you find on your way. Build home to store it. Safe place to hang out with friends, drop your loot at and just ignore monsters while being inside. Each time I finish new house I find a better place to build it. I have possessions in old home, and I hate moving them to new place. Moving stuff from old home to new one is a burden, destroying my freedom. And I knew natural way to solve it - make home mobile. It will carry me and all my possessions

home

Always on the move

Giant sci-fi tank is perfect place to live in. No more things holding you back. Grab your stuff inside and drive away, go steal stuff not bolted to ground. Fortress on wheels, conquering the wasteland, it is your home, your freedom.

Very important was to save the feeling of travel. I want to give the wheel to friend and let him drive, while I stare outside the window how hills or rivers pass by, or move furniture around our home. Sea Of Thieves may be the only game with something similar

tank

Immersion

Immersive games obviously drag me deeper into its universe. So everything must feel real, just like your home. Like you was always a part of this world. Anything you think looks interactive - it should be. You should be able to touch it, move it, break it, or use it. And it should be fun to do so. I want to make the world feel alive, and you are the part of it. Anything not doing its purpose must be redesigned or removed. It must feel like immersive simulator - Deus Ex


Exploring

Looking for new things must be engaging. Is modern games I just run in pre-designed path. One step aside - "oh look, an easter egg". Older games might contain secrets in absolutely random places. Tiny hole behind boxes or waterfall, or whole secret area behind bushes filled with terrorists (I love Postal 2).

I want places with vents, holes and secret passages. Like I'm a cat infiltrating whatever place I desire. And each new unexpected place has some reward. A nice view, piece of lore from surroundings, small fight or good ol' box of useful junk

explore

Minimal UI

I don't like when we are playing with UI, not the game. You drop on session with random players, check out the map, see objective, run to it, see enemies on map just run around them. Finish objective and evacuate.

It felt like I'm a rat in a maze, released with clear purpose to fulfill until timer runs out. Go to marker, finish, run back

My vision is to make minimal UI when possible. You have to find the goal on your own. No inventory management and looking for journal menu. You only look at world, listen to sounds, look for clues, searching for anything useful. Adventures must have the unknown, and you are the one to discover it. Of course, there will be tools like map or radar, but those are items, not just magic UI floating in front of you. I still had to make health and items hotbar like that :(

If not enough space in 9 slots of hotbar - find a box, drop stuff inside the box and take the box with you. But box is real, you have to open it and consider size of items you put inside


In-game junk, look at my trash

In game like Fallout you collect junk all around. But you never use it. You just collect it, store it, and forget about it. Or just disassemble it mindlessly. For me each item might be unique. But how unique only adventures will tell

I found this desktop fan on adventures, at specific place. And now it decorates my room. Takes my space. But other stuff goes into furnace as fuel. But what if that shovel could be useful? Or this funny figurine, It could be the secret key

I want to collect each item and bring it to home. Hoard it like a crazy old man. Show off my house, how it reflects my adventures. And maybe, just maybe, that broken radio I found in the middle of nowhere will be useful. Or maybe I will just throw it away, because I need space for new broken radio

junk

Multiplayer

Everything with friends is double the fun. Hopefully, having dedicated server like in Minecraft with random adventures will be possible. But now I implemented and focused on 4+ coop with friends via Steam


Conclusion

I need a game about adventures, while driving giant moving base with friends, where only wild west rules apply to anyone we encounter. With freedom to explore, collect, destroy, and fight

I'm making my own universe where I can be a part of it. And I hope you will join me in this journey <3


Wasteland Sovereign track made by Udio AI for me by my request. Let's pretend this is raider's hymn

Steam Store

StCost :: Visitor's Count